The 2020 recipients of the annual Robert J. Menges Award investigated benefits of multi-institutional course design and impacts of a faculty learning community on online education.

Outcomes of a hybrid, multi-institutional course design workshop series

Darren Hoffmann—University of Iowa*
Katie Kearns—Indiana University Bloomington
Preston Cumming—University of Colorado Boulder
Leslie Drane—Indiana University Bloomington

Madeleine Gonin—Indiana University Bloomington
Lisa Kelly—University of Iowa
Lisa Rohde—University of Nebraska
Shawana Tabassum—Iowa State University

This study aims to investigate the phenomenon of multi-institutional collaboration in the delivery of graduate student development programming. Specifically, it seeks to determine what are the benefits for learners and course leaders in sharing effort across institutions. The findings of this study provide solid evidence that working together to support graduate development through skillful use of hybrid online and face-to-face (F2F) approaches leads to benefits for both learners and leaders.

View Proposal

Faculty Community of Inquiry Transforms Online Teaching Perceptions and Practices

Karen Skibba–University of Wisconsin–Madison*
Maria Widmer–University of Wisconsin–Madison

The focus of this research case study is an exploration of the impact of a large blended faculty learning community on instructors’ perceptions of and practices for online education. It seeks to answer the questions: Which methods utilized in a blended faculty learning community, categorized by the presences of the Community of Inquiry framework, had the most impact on participants’ perceptions and practices of online course design and teaching? Why were these methods impactful? Practical techniques can establish teaching, social, and cognitive presence in a holistic educational experience. These experiences result in an enduring transformation of teaching that is critical to student success in online education.

View Proposal

The Robert J. Menges Award was established by the POD Network in 2000 to recognize outstanding original research in the field of educational development for higher education. Selected by a subcommittee from research findings presented at the POD annual conference, Menges Award recipients exemplify the spirit of caring consultation, active participation, and rigorous research that characterize its namesake.

*Principle Investigator