Core Committee

Email: CoreATpodnetworkDOTorg

The following text is paraphrased from the POD Network By-laws:

The activities, affairs, and property of the POD Network are overseen by a board of directors known as the Core Committee. The Core Committee consists of no more than 18 persons, including the President, President Elect, and Past President. Additionally, the Executive Director is an ex-officio member of Core. Members are elected for 3-year terms by a vote of the POD Network membership. Five new members are elected each year. Core Committee members must be members of the POD Network. Incumbent members of the Core Committee must wait at least one year before being candidates for another term.

The Executive Committee carries forth the work of the Core Committee between the spring and fall Core Committee meetings and oversees other important aspects of the organization’s work. The Executive Committee is the President, President Elect, Past President, Chair of Finance, and the Executive Director.


Core Committee Members

2019-2020 Core Committee

Dr. Angela Linse

Angela Linse, President
Executive Director & Associate Dean
Schreyer Institute for Teaching Excellence
Penn State University
Office: 814-865-8681


Cassandra Volpe Horii, Past President 
Director, Center for Teaching, Learning, & Outreach
California Institute of Technology
Office: 626-395-6225


Donna Ellis, President Elect 
Director of Centre for Teaching Excellence
University of Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Office: 519-888-4567 Ext. 35713


Greg Siering, 2018-2021, Chair of Finance
Director, Center for Innovative Teaching and Learning
Indiana University Bloomington
Office: 812-855-9174


Hoag Holmgren, Executive Director
Professional & Organizational
Development Network in Higher Education
Nederland, Colorado
Office: 303-258-9521
Fax: 303-258-7377


Isis Artze-Vega, 2018-2021
Assistant Vice President, Teaching & Learning
Florida International University
Office: 305-348-4214


Dorothe Bach, 2017-2020
Associate Director and Associate Professor
Center for Teaching Excellence
University of Virginia
Office: 434-982-2815


Gabriele Bauer, 2017-2020
Director of Villanova Institute for Teaching and Learning
Villanova University
Office: 610-519-5628

Lynn Eaton Portrait Image

Lynn Eaton, 2019-2022
Director, Faculty Development
University of Mary Hardin-Baylor

Steve Hansen Portrait Image

Steve Hansen, 2019-2022
Associate Director, Center for Teaching Excellence
Duquesne University

Chad Hershock Portrait Image

Chad Hershock, 2019-2022
Director of Faculty & Graduate Student Programs
Eberly Center
Carnegie Mellon University


Jonathan Iuzzini, 2017-2020
Associate Director of Teaching & Learning
Achieving the Dream
Office: 240-450-0075

Katie Linder

Katie Linder, 2017-2020
Research Director
Oregon State University
Office: 541-737-4629

Carl S. Moore

Carl S. Moore, 2017-2020
Assistant Chief Academic Officer for Assessment, Innovation, and Faculty Development
University of the District of Columbia
Office: 202-274-5019


Robin Pappas, 2018-2021
Instructional Innovation Program Manager | Office of the Vice Provost and CIO
Information Services
Oregon State University
Office: 541-737-3712

Lauren Pipe Portrait Image

Laura Pipe, 2019-2022
Director, Teaching Innovations Office
University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Christine Rener

Christine Rener, 2018-2021
Vice Provost for Instructional Development and Innovation,
Director, Robert and Mary Pew Faculty Teaching and Learning Center &
Associate Professor of Chemistry
Grand Valley State University
Office: 616-331-3499


Sandra Sgoutas-Emch, 2018-2021
Professor of Psychological Sciences &
Director of the Center for Educational Excellence
University of San Diego
Office: 619-260-4005

Toni Weiss Portrait Image

Toni Weiss, 2019-2022
Executive Director of Classroom Engagement
Center for Engaged Learning and Teaching
Tulane University